Blog Posts

Portage County Farmers Market

Portage County Business Council Honors Award Winners at Annual Dinner

By Portage County Business Council

The Portage County Business Council is proud to announce that Bria Bella & Co. has been selected as the recipient of the 2020 Small Business of the Year. Worzalla has been chosen for the 2020 Decree of Excellence Award. The entire Ambassador Club will receive the 2020 Ambassador of the Year award. And Craig Gerlach, Superintendent of the Stevens Point Area Public School District is the recipient of the 2020 President’s Award.

Bria Bella & Co., owned by Tara Manzke, was chosen based on their growth and financial stability; dedication to customer service and community needs; strength in employer/employee relations, efforts to adapt to market changes, and industry leadership. They are located at 925 Main Street in downtown, Stevens Point.

Worzalla, an employee-owned publishing company, was chosen based on their contributions to the area’s economic vitality, increase in local employment base and significant contributions in community service.

Given the unusual circumstance presented in 2020, all 29 Portage County Business Council Ambassadors will be recognized for their dedication to community outreach and participation in activities that promote the Portage County Business Council’s mission.

2020 Portage County Business Council Board President Derek Nest selected Craig Gerlach for the President’s Award. “Craig has shown tremendous leadership for the Stevens Point Area Public Schools. He has many stakeholders to balance in the decisions he makes and has done an extraordinary job leading our community through a great deal of change and uncertainty. Craig is also a valuable contributor as a member of the Portage County Business Council Board of Directors and is involved with other organizations in our community. He has been a key collaborator and engaged team player since joining the community since 2016.”

The Presenting sponsor of the event is TDS. Award sponsors include Delta Dental of Wisconsin, Sentry, Simplicity Credit Union, Van Horn Nissan Stevens Point, and WoodTrust Bank.

“Our annual award winners are a microcosm of why our community has such a great quality of life”, said Todd Kuckkahn, Executive Director for the Portage County Business Council. “These recipients reflect all that is great about the people, businesses, education and government here. They are role models of unselfishness and what it means to sacrifice for the betterment of everyone. They join a long line of community leaders recognized for excellence.”

Award recipients will be recognized at the Portage County Business Council’s Annual Dinner on Tuesday, June 15th at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Convention Center in Stevens Point. Registration for the event can be found at

For more information, contact Karen Myers at


About the Portage County Business Council-Where Economic Vitality Meets Quality of Life. The Portage County Business Council is the preeminent leader in economic development and community growth. The priorities for our members and the community are retention and attraction of businesses and employees. That is accomplished through engagement, growth, innovation, leadership, network development and partnerships.